Home / Cricket in North East England

Cricket in North East England

Cricket in North East England has a long tradition and is said to have been played in the region as early as the Elizabethan period. The first modern cricket clubs - Durham County Cricket Club and Yorkshire County Cricket Club were founded in 1863 and 1882, respectively. Both compete in the County Championship, the highest level of domestic cricket in England.

Other North East England cricket clubs mainly compete in the North East Premier League (ECB Premier League since 2000) which is the top level of competition for recreational club cricket for the countries of Northumberland, Durham and Tyne and Wear, while the Northumberland County Cricket Club competes in the Minor Counties Championship and MCCA Knockout Trophy.

Yorkshire County Cricket Club

Yorkshire County Cricket Club is the most successful cricket team in history of cricket in England. The team has won 1 Pro40 championship, 3 Friends Provident trophies and as many as 31 County Championship titles. Yorkshire typically plays its home games at the Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground in Leeds with a capacity for 17,500 spectators but they sometimes also play at the North Marine Road Ground in Scarborough that has a capacity for 11,500 people. Other notable venues of Yorkshire County Cricket Club include the Bramall Lane in Sheffield, Horton Park Avenue in Bradford, The Circle in Kingston upon Hull, the St George’s Road Cricket Ground in Harrogate and Acklam Park in Middlesbrough.

Durham County Cricket Club

The second North East England cricket club of the 18 major county clubs that make up the County cricket received the first-class status only in 1991 and as a result, it doesn’t have as many trophies and titles as Yorkshire County Cricket Club. But the team has won 2 County Championship titles – one in 2008 and the second one in 2009 as well as 1 CB40 and 1 Friends Provident trophy. The team is based at the Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground in Chester-le-Street that was built in 1995. Besides domestic competitions, Durham’s home ground also hosts international matches. It was the host of the 1999 Cricket World Cup, One Day International match in the NatWest Triangular Series (played by England, West Indies and Zimbabwe) in 2000 and 4 England test matches. In 2013, it will also be a host to The Ashes match between England and Australia.

Northumberland County Cricket Club

As mentioned earlier, the Northumberland County Cricket Club is one of the Minor Counties in England’s domestic cricket structure and competes in the Minor Counties Championship and MCCA Knockout Trophy. The club hasn’t won the Minor Counties Championship yet but it did win the MCCA Knockout Trophy in 2006. It is based at the Osborne Avenue in Jesmond.